Boards and Committees

The City of Hackensack is always seeking members to volunteer for various boards and committees. 

Please contact the Hackensack City Clerk’s Office at 201-646-3941 or by email to asaabye@hackensack.org for any openings on Hackensack’s volunteer Boards and Committees. 

Please use this form

Please return completed applications to the City Clerk’s office.  Applications may be submitted by mail to 65 Central Avenue, 3rd Floor, Hackensack, NJ 07601, in person during normal office hours (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.), or by e-mail to the City Clerk dkarlsson@hackensack.org

Meeting information:  All City Boards and Committees are listed below in alphabetical order, please scroll.

Access to All Advisory Board

7PM Large Conference Room, 3rd Floor

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020


Enabling Ordinance

Board of Education 

Webpage (Schedule is under Board of Ed Tab)

Condo and Coop Unit Owners Advisory Board
See schedule here
Enabling Ordinance

Environmental Commission

7PM Council Chambers, 3rd Floor

Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020
Wednesday, December 23, 2020


Enabling Ordinance

Hackensack Municipal Alliance (Alcohol & Drug Abuse Prevention, formerly HAPADA) 

Generally, meets Thursday at 8:45 a.m. City Hall, 65 Central Avenue, 3rd Floor. 

Thursday, September 12, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday,  March 12, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020


Enabling Ordinance


Housing Authority 
Typically the 2nd Thursday of the month. Generally 6pm. 65 First Street. See schedule here
Enabling Ordinance

Library Board

2nd Tuesday of the month. 4pm. Johnson Pub. Library. 274 Main Street. See schedule here.
Board of Trustees

Local Assistance Board
Currently inactive but looking for members
Enabling Ordinance


Planning Board

See schedule here
Enabling Ordinance

Recreation Board
The first Wednesday of every month. 7pm. City Hall, 65 Central Avenue, 3rd Floor. No meetings in July and August. Please contact rfrontignano@hackensack.org for details.
Enabling Ordinance


Rental Stabilization Board
Enabling Ordinance
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020




Senior Citizens Advisory Board

Currently inactive but looking for members
Enabling Ordinance

Shade Tree Advisory Committee
7:30PM Small Conference Room, 3rd Floor
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Tuesday, December 15, 2020


Webpage

Enabling Ordinance

Stigma-Free Advisory Board
Webpage (with Meeting Schedule)

Enabling Ordinance  

Veterans Advisory Board
Enabling Ordinance

Zoning Board of Adjustment
See schedule here.
Enabling Ordinance